Board of Trustees

The members of the board of trustees share in our drive to advance interdisciplinary biomedical research and leverage the strength of our collaborative partnerships.

Carl E. Gulbrandsen, Ph.D., J.D., Chair

Emeritus Managing Director of Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation

Mary Burke, MBA

CEO and Founder, Building Brave

John Burris, Ph.D.

Emeritus President, Burroughs Wellcome Fund

Harvey Cohen, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Stanford University School of Medicine

James Dahlberg, Ph.D.

Former Interim Chief Executive Officer, Morgridge Institute for Research
Professor Emeritus, Department of Biomolecular Chemistry, University of Wisconsin
Founder, Third Wave Technologies

Susan Engeleiter, JD

CEO and President, Data Recognition Corporation (DMC), Minneapolis

Jacquelyn Fredrick, MBA

Former President and CEO of BloodCenter of Wisconsin and the BloodCenter Research Institute
Former President and CEO of Versiti, Inc.

Erik Iverson, JD, LLM

Chief Executive Officer, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation

Deborah Keller, MBA

Retired, Chief Executive Officer of Covance Drug Development

Thomas M. Krummel, M.D.

Emile Holman Professor and Chair Emeritus
Department of Surgery
Stanford University School of Medicine
Co-Director Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign

Patricia Lipton, M.S.

Retired Executive Director, State of Wisconsin Investment Board

John Morgridge, MBA

Chairman Emeritus, Cisco Systems

Tashia Morgridge, M.S.

Author and Retired Educator

John Neis, CFA

Managing Director, VENTUREINVESTORS 

Terri L. Potter, MHA

Retired Chief Executive Officer, Meriter Health Services
President, Potter Consulting

Thomas F. Pyle Jr., MBA

Chairman, The Pyle Group LLC
Retired Chairman, President, CEO and Principal Owner, Rayovac Corporation

Fred Robertson, MBA, M.D.

Venture Partner, Baird Capital Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Wisconsin Retired CEO, Director, TomoTherapy

Winslow L. Sargeant, Ph.D.

Managing Director, S&T LLC

Brad Schwartz, M.D.

Chief Executive Officer, Morgridge Institute for Research
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Biomolecular Chemistry, University of Wisconsin

Emeritus Trustees

James Berbee, M.S., MBA, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor, BerbeeWalsh Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Wisconsin Founder and Former Chairman, Berbee Information Networks Corporation

Ernest Micek, B.S.

Retired CEO, Cargill

Carol Skornicka, M.A. J.D.

Retired Senior Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel, Midwest Airlines

Joan Spero, M.A., Ph.D.

Retired President, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation Burnell Roberts, MBA Retired CEO, Mead Corp.

John Rowe, J.D.

Chairman Emeritus, Exelon Corporation

Jan Ver Hagen, B.S.

Retired, Emerson Electric

David Whitwam, B.S.

Retired CEO, Whirlpool Corp.